The sooner you register a project the better.  Ideally before design even begins, as knowing the requirements and understanding the rating system can help you from the initial stages, even as early as picking a location to build.  But a  project already underway is still eligible under certain conditions.

Depending on the size of the house, the project must have a score of 45 points or more to qualify for certification.

Types of buildings eligible types of projects that are eligible:

New Homes:

  • Single family 
  • Multi housing (up to 3 floors)
  • Multi Housing (4 to 15 floors)
  • Townhomes
  • Mixed use where more than 50% of the area is residential. In addition, it is expected that the commercial is performed according to the same ecological principles.

Types of buildings that are not eligible:


  •  Renovations that do not include completely insulating and sealing  the entire building envelope.
  •  Additions that are not registered from the start of building process.
  •  Multi units over 6 floors.
  • Mixed use where more than 50% of the area is commercial.

     * Multi-housing projects of  6 stories and over  can be certified under the Mid-Rise LEED for Homes program with the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC).